Escape in Porch Living

Too many rainy days in a row have me dreaming of a sunny day on my porch and how to make it an oasis that the experts make look so easy.  Should I explore furniture in dark colors for a striking contrast?  The white architectural details juxtaposed with dark materials above looks great.

Or should it be all white with pops of color in the accessories and the surrounding nature?  Such a crisp and simple look.

coastal living

Or should I let my favorite fabric set the tone?! (There should be a “jumping off point” in any room!!)  The green looks amazing as does the red popping off the old school ticking stripe.

Laura Moss photo of porch

Or are there architectural details that should be highlighted?  I like the dark shutters and the doorway at the end of the porch above.  Also love the effect of the blue clapboard and floor in the porch below – it feels like an inside room outside!

blue with pops of pink on porch

At some point soon I will need to make decisions if I am going make my porch cozy for family and friends.  For now, I will just day dream and make my wish list!

Image Sources:
Life’s Good, Be Happy, Design ChicSyracuse, Coastal LivingBHGSavoring Simplicity, 1884 Paxton House Inn

If you like this post, then you might like these:
Etsy Pick of the Week:  Pillow Covers for Spring
D.I.Y.:  Colorful Pots
Shutter the Front Door!

3 thoughts on “Escape in Porch Living

Leave a comment